Skip to main content

Lorde-O'Leary Award

The Lorde-O'Leary Award, which is named in honor of author and activist Audre Lorde and the late Professor Ron O'Leary of the University of Maryland Department of Theatre, is presented to the senior class student who has contributed most significantly to the advancement of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender student community at the University of Maryland and the general interest of the University.

Nominations open at the start of the spring semester each year and can be submitted by anyone with a UMD login (including self nominations). Nominees will be asked to provide supporting materials. Winners are chosen by a selection committee convened by MICA. The award is given out at the Annual University Student Leadership Awards hosted by the Division of Student Affairs at the end of the spring semester.

A list of past recipients can be found here.

Back to Top