Spirit of Maryland 2020


The 2020 Spirit of Maryland Award


The Spirit of Maryland Award is presented annually, in lieu of a traditional Homecoming King or Queen honoree, to two members of the senior class who through their achievements have most exemplified the "spirit" of the University of Maryland. Criteria for the award include outstanding scholarship, leadership, campus involvement, community service, and communication skills. A committee composed of faculty, staff, and alumni interviews students who are advanced to the final round of the application process.








Dan Alpert

Dan Alpert


Dan Alpert, a Marketing major, is the Student Body President and previously served as the City Council Liaison among other roles in the Student Government Association. He has been the President of Terps for Israel, the Vice President of Administrative Affairs of the Interfraternity Council, and was recognized as Omicron Delta Kappa Sophomore of the Year in 2018.

Emily Berry

Emily Berry

Government and Politics

Emily Berry, a Government and Politics major, is President of the Residence Hall Association, and a Senator on the University Senate for the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences. She has been an intern at the Office of Governor Larry Hogan and at the Office of State Delegate Michael Malone. She was the recipient of the Kiyomi D. Harper Omicron Delta Kappa Scholarship in 2020.


Jackson Devadas

Biological Sciences

Jackson Devadas, a Biological Sciences major, is Co-Chair of Equity Inclusion, and Intersectionality for LGBTQ Students and Allies of Public Health, and Treasurer and Facilitator of Pride Alliance. He has also been a member of the Honors College Student Advisory Board and Honors Ambassadors. He was the recipient of the Alumni Association Award in 2019.


Lauren Frost

Communications and Government and Politics

Lauren Frost, a Communications and Government and Politics double major, is President and Public Relations Chair of the Black Honors Caucus, and Vice President of Communications for The National Panhellenic Council. She was a Communications Intern for the Office of Senator Kamala D. Harris and a Congressional Intern for Lauren Underwood.


Divya Kapoor

Information Systems and Operations Management & Business Analytics

Divya Kapoor, an Information Systems and Operations Management & Business Analytics major, is the Vice President of Finance for Student Entertainment Events and has also been the Musical Arts Director and the Performing Arts Director. She also serves as the Vice President of Engagement for the Gemstone Leadership Council. In 2020, she was a finalist for the Adele H. Stamp Memorial Award and the recipient of the SEE Josh Burdette Memorial Scholarship.


Julia Reicin

Psychology and Geographic Information Science

Julia Reicin, a Psychology and Geographic Information Science major, is a Scholarship Athlete on the Varsity Track and Field Team. She is Director of the Student Athlete Advisory Council, and a Student Athlete Representative of the UMD COVID-19 Task Force and VoTERP Task Force. She is a Phillip Merril Presidential Scholar and a 2020 Truman Scholarship finalist.


David Rekhtman


David Rekhtman, a Chemistry major, is President of Omicron Delta Kappa. He served on the Student Government Association as Speaker of the Legislature and Representative of the Ellicott Community. He is a Chemistry Undergraduate Teaching Assistant and an intern at ML Strategies. He was the recipient of the 2019 Nathan Drake Award for Chemistry and named as an Omicron Delta Kappa Top Ten Freshman in 2018.


Philippos Sourvinos

Theater and Government

Philippos Sourvinos, a Theater and Government double major, has been the Student Coordinator, a Team Leader, and Orientation Advisor for the Office of New Student Orientation and Transition. In 2018 he was the recipient of the Creative and Performing Arts Scholarship and the National PanHellenic Scholarship Foundation Award. He was a Legislative Intern for Congresswoman Scanlon.


Pauline Sow

Economics, Government, and Dance

Pauline Sow, an Economics, Government, and Dance major, is President of the Black Alliance Network and Vice President of the Black Student Union. She is the Director of Diversity and Inclusion for the Student Government Association. She is the recipient of the Mark D and Traye C. Turner Scholarship and also is the Nymburu Student of the Year.

Yesica Ventura

Yesica Ventura

Criminal Justice

Yesica Ventura, a Criminal Justice major, is a Student Ambassador for the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Tutor for the Academic Achievement Program. She is an Associate Justice for the Student Government Association and a member of the Political Latinxs United for Movement and Action in Society. She is also an inductee into the Alpha Phi Sigma, Criminal Justice Honor Society, and a violinist in the University of Maryland Repertoire Orchestra.

Back to Top