Chaplains

Chaplains work collectively to serve the spiritual needs of the University of Maryland.

University Chaplains

In the open, inclusive environment of many cultures and faiths, the Chaplaincies work collectively to serve the spiritual needs of the University of Maryland. The Chaplains, supported by and representing their faith communities, serve their faith traditions while demonstrating a unity that contributes to the rich diversity and quality of life at the University and in the community.

Recognized Chaplaincies:

For specific information about chaplaincy programs and worship opportunities, please contact the chaplains directly. In addition to the chaplaincies and their programs, a number of other religious student groups exist on campus. To search a listing of these groups please visit terplink.umd.edu

Jessica Senasack

Baptist
Mrs. Jessica Senasack
2120 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 410-627-1096
Email: jessbcm@umd.edu
www.umdbcm.com

Chaplain photo

Black Student Ministries
Rev. Dr. Haywood Robinson. III
1112 Memorial Chapel
Email: pastor@tpcbc.org
Phone: 301-384-2601
O'Brien Wimbish
Assistant to the Chaplain
Phone: 301-524-8122
Email: olwimbish@gmail.com

Chaplain photo

Christian Science
lMs. Jen Eidson
2118 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 240-481-6278
Email: jeidson@umd.edu

Chaplain photo

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormon)


7601 Mowatt Lane, College Park
Phone: 301-422-7570
Email: 

Chaplain photo

Eastern Orthodox 
Rev. Kosmas Karavellas
2747 Riva Road, Annapolis
Phone: 410-573-2072 
Email: fatherkosmas@schgochurch.org

Chaplain photo

Episcopal/Anglican
Rev. Sarah Akes-Cardwell
2116 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8453
Email: revsarah@umd.edu
umd@edow.org

 

Kiran Sankhla

Hindu
Rev. Kiran Sankhla
2112 Memorial Chapel
Email: muraris2002@yahoo.com

 Chaplain photo

Jewish-Hillel
Rabbi Ari Israel
Phone: 301-422-6200 
Email: aisrael@marylandhillel.org
Hillel Jewish Student Center
7612 Mowatt Lane, College Park 
Naomi Gohn
Phone: 301-422-6200 ext. 215
Email: ngohn@marylandhillel.org

Chaplain photo

Jewish-Chabad
Rabbi Eli Backman
Chabad Jewish Student Center
7403 Hopkins Ave., College Park
Phone: 301-277-2994
Email: chabad@umd.edu
www.umdchabad.org

Chaplain photo

Lutheran
Rev. Ray Ranker
2103 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8448
Email: lutheran@umd.edu or rayranker@gmail.com
http://lutheranterps.com/

Tarif Shraim

Muslim
Imam Tarif Shraim
2118 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 240-499-4733
Email: tshraim@gmail.com
http://cmlmd.org

Chaplain photo

Roman Catholic
Fr. Conrad Murphy
Catholic Student Center
4141 Guilford Road, College Park
Phone: 301-864-6223
Email: catholicterps@gmail.com or frconrad@catholicterps.org
www.catholicterps.org

Chaplain photo

United Campus Ministry
(Presbyterian, Disciples of Christ, United Church of Christ)
Rev. Holly Ulmer
2101 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8450
Email: ulmer@umd.edu
www.ucmcollegepark.org

Chaplain photo

United Methodist
Rev. Michelle Mejia
2102 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-970-9777
Email: theTerpHUB@gmail.com
www.theTerpHUB.org
Cristin Cooper
Ministry Coordinator
Email: cristinlcooper@gmail.com

Chaplain photo

Chaplain Emerita
Rev. Beth Platz
2103 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-467-2977
Email: eplatz@umd.edu 

Back to Top