Skip to main content

Award of Excellence

The annual Award of Excellence is given to employees who go above and beyond in their positions each and every day. This award is based on the following criteria:

  • Quality of the candidate’s work, including level of energy and enthusiasm committed to the job
  • Contributions to the accomplishment of the mission and goals of the Stamp
  • Contributions to the sense of a team in the Stamp
  • Demonstrated commitment to quality customer service

The award is given to one Stamp employee in each of the following categories:

  • Undergraduate Student
  • Graduate Student
  • Full-Time & Part-Time Staff

The Award of Excellence has been created in the honor of Dr. James Osteen who served as the Director of the Adele H. Stamp Student Union from 1986 to 2004 and then went on to become the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs. Dr. Osteen joined the University of Maryland community in 1979 as the Director of Campus Activities, overseeing several areas that eventually became part of STAMP. He oversaw the $30 million STAMP renovation, and was instrumental in growing the leadership and multicultural program areas. His wit and sense of humor were cornerstones of his leadership. We are proud to name the Outstanding Staff awards after Dr. Osteen who served for so many years as a pillar of the Division of Student Affairs and STAMP.  

The Award of Excellence nomination and voting process opens annually during the spring semester. Staff members will be contacted via email about nomination and voting procedures. 


Ana Pena-Molina — Activities
Kamrie Risku — Event and Guest Services
Karrin Thompson — Graduate Student Life
Kausalya Ganesh — Marketing and Communications
Allison Qiu — Event and Guest Services

Avery Calendar — Engagement
Sarah Fry — Event and Guest Services
Taylor Markey — Activities
Monique Oliver — HR/Assessment and Research
Tyler Baynard — TerpZone

Pro Staff
Joe Calizo — Activities
Valerie LaHoud — Activities
William Post — Leadership and Community-Service Learning
Susan Canady — Event and Guest Services
Whitney Schepf — Marketing and Communications
Curtis Shade — Facilities
Ghonva Ghauri — Multicultural Involvement and Community Advocacy
Michelle Reese — Engagement & Centers
David Reese — Engagement


Back to Top